Monday 27 February 2017

Lifetime awards for Shivalkar, Goel

Lifetime awards for Shivalkar, Goel -C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016

Ranji Trophy titans Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar have been nominated for the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016. The BCCI made the announcement on Monday, also
stating(उन्होंने कहा that former) India wicket-keeper Farokh Engineer would deliver the fifth MAK Pataudi Memorial Lecture. The lecture and the BCCI Annual Awards ceremony (समारोह) 2016-17 will be held in Bengaluru on March 8. Goel and Shivalkar, both left-arm spinners, did not get to represent the National team but the awards committee, consisting of N. Ram, Ramachandra Guha, and Diana Edulji, felt(महसूस किया) the BCCI needed to “recognise the services rendered (प्रदान की गई है) by Goel and Shivalkar, who were not fortunate enough to play for India.” Goel, who played the bulk of his cricket for Delhi and Haryana, finished with a total of 750 first-class victims during a career that spanned 27 years. The 74-year-old is still the highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy history with 637 scalps(विकेट). Shivalkar, who represented Bombay in the Ranji Trophy, played 124 first-class matches, claiming 589 wickets.
The BCCI has also introduced the Lifetime Achievement Award for Women, with former captain Shanta Rangaswamy to be its first recipient.
Meanwhile, former India and Tamil Nadu leg-spinner V.V. Kumar and the late Ramakant Desai have been nominated for the BCCI Special Award, “in recognition of their yeoman services to Indian Cricket.”

No comments:

Post a Comment