Tuesday, 2 August 2016

2016 Rogers Cup concluded

Serbian Novak Djokovic and Simona Halep of Romania on 31 July 2016 won men’s and women’s singles title in the 2016 Rogers Cup. The Rogers Cup also known as Canadian Open/Masters was held in Toronto (for men) and Montreal (for women) from 25 July to 31 July 2016. The men's competition is a Masters 1000 event on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) tour. The women's competition is a Premier 5
tournament on the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) tour. The competition is played on hard courts.

Winners of 2016 Rogers Cup


Men’s Singles 2016 Rogers Cup.

Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
Kei Nishikori (Japan)

Women’s Singles 2016 Rogers Cup.

Simona Halep (Romania)
Madison Keys (the US)

Men’s doubles 2016 Rogers Cup.

Ivan Dodig (Croatia) and
Marcelo Melo (Brazil)
Jamie Murray (Scotland) and Bruno Soares (Brazil)

Women’s doubles 2016 Rogers Cup.

Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina (Russia)
Simona Halep and Monica Niculescu (Romania)

Key highlight of 2016 Rogers Cup

• Novak Djokovic defeated Kei Nishikori 6-3, 7-5 to clinch his 66th career title. The world number one claimed his fourth Canadian title.
• Djokovic, who won Bronze in Beijing Olympics and missed the podium in London, became the first player to clinch 30 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles.
• It was seventh crown of the year and fourth at the Masters 1000 level for Djokovic, others Masters 1000 level victories were notched in Indian Wells, Miami and Madrid.
• The Serbian, who takes home 782525 dollar in prize money and 1000 Emirates ATP Rankings points, moved into solo second on the Open Era titles list at the Rogers Cup, adding to victories in 2007 and 2011-12. Only six-time champion Ivan Lendl owns more singles trophies in Canada.
• Fifth seed Simona Halep defeated Madison Keys 7-6, 6-3 to claim her 14th WTA title.
• Halep has three singles titles this year and 14 overall.

Rogers Cup (Canadian Open or Canada Masters)

The Rogers Cup is an annual tennis tournament held in Canada. The competition is played on hard courts. The events alternate from year to year between the cities of Montreal and Toronto. In odd-numbered years, the men's tournament is held in Montreal, while the women's tournament is held in Toronto, and vice versa in even-numbered years.
Before 2011, they were held during separate weeks in the July–August period, now the two competitions are held during the same week in August. The Toronto tournament is held at the Aviva Centre and the Montreal tournament is held at the Uniprix Stadium.

The Cup is one of the oldest tournaments of the world. Only Wimbledon and the US Open have longer histories than this Tour event.

Rogers Cup Title Leaders (Open Era)

Ivan Lendl
Novak Djokovic
Rafel Nadal
Andy Murray
Andre Agassi
ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Title Leaders
Novak Djokovic
Rafel Nadal
Roger Federer
Andre Agassi
Andy Murray

No comments:

Post a Comment