Friday, 29 July 2016

Centre forms ‘Disha’ for timely implementation of Central Schemes

The Centre today announced the formation of District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DDCMC) to be named “Disha” for effective development coordination of almost all the programmes of Central Government, whether it is for infrastructure development or Social and human resource development. Making a suo-motu statement in the Lok Sabha, the Union Minister of Rural
Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation Shri Narendra Singh Tomar said that to begin with, these Committees would monitor the implementation of 28 schemes and programmes of Ministry of Rural Development and other Ministries to promote synergy and convergence for greater impact.
The main purpose of this committee is to coordinate with Central and State and local Panchayat Governments, for successful and timely implementation of the schemes. Efforts will be made to ensure the participation of people’s representative at all levels in it and successful implementation of flagship programme of central government. Instruction has been issued to hold the first meeting of DISHA on 13th August, 2016.
The Statement said that the DDCMC supercedes the District Vigilance & Monitoring Committee currently mandated by Ministry of Rural Development and the new committee will be known as “Disha”.

The meetings of the committee should be held once in every Quarter (Third Saturdays of April, July, October and February) and this has been made mandatory.

            The programmes to be covered under includes:
1)            Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS)
2)            Deen Dayal Antordaya Yojna - NRLM
3)            Deen Dayal Upadhyay – Gramin Kaushalya Yojna (DDU-GKY)
4)            Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY)
5)            National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)
6)            Pradhan Mantri Gramin Awaas Yojna (PMAY-G)
7)            Swachh Bharat Mission – Gramin (SBM- G)
8)            National Rural Drinking Water Programme (NRDWP)
9)            Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojna (PMKSY) – Intregrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP)
10)        Digital India Land Record Modernisation Programme (NLRMP)
11)        Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Rurban Mission   - National Rurban Mission (NRuM)
12)        Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY)
13)        Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Housing for All - Urban)
14)        Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM)
15)        National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)
16)        Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT)
17)        Smart City Mission
18)        Ujjwal DISCOM Assurance Yojna (UDAY)
19)        Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY)
20)        National Heath Mission (NHM)
21)        Sarva Siksha Abhiyan (SSA)
22)        Intregrated Child Development Scheme (ICDS)
23)        Mid-Day Meal Scheme
24)        Pradhan Mantri UJJWALA Yojana (PMUY) - LPG Connection to BPL families
25)        Jal Marg Vikash Project
26)        Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojna
27)        Digital India – Public Internet Access Programme – providing Common Service Centre in each Gram Panchayat
28)        Infrastructure related programme like Telecom, railways, highways, waterways, mines, etc.
The Chairperson of the committee will be the senior most Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) elected from the district, nominated by the Ministry of Rural Development. The other Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) representing the district will be designated as Co-Chairpersons. One MP (Rajya Sabha) representing the State and exercising option to be associated with the district level Committee of that district (on first come basis) will be designated as Co-Chairperson. All Members of the State Legislative Assembly elected from the district, All Mayors / the Chairpersons of Municipalities, chairperson of the Zilla Panchayat, Five elected heads of Gram Panchayat including two women, One representative each of SC, ST and Women to be nominated by the Chairperson will be among other members of the committee. The Member Secretary of disha should be the District Collector / District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner except in cases where specific exemption has been given by the Union Government.

The meetings of the committee should be held once in every Quarter (Third Saturdays of April, July, October and February). The Meeting notice should reach all members at least 15 days prior to the meeting, Agenda note should reach all members at least 10 days prior to the meeting. The meetings can be convened even if all the members of the Committee have not been nominated. In the absence of the designated Chairperson, Co-Chairperson (if any), with consensus among the Co-Chairpersons present, should preside over the meeting.  If no Chairperson / Co-Chairperson is present, the Members who are present should elect a Chairperson from among themselves to preside over the scheduled meeting. In very extraordinary circumstances the District Magistrate/Deputy Commissioner could authorize the CEO Zila Parishad or a Senior ADM to be the Member Secretary for a particular meeting to ensure that meetings of Disha are held as scheduled. Proceedings of the meetings should be issued within 10 days of the meeting after due approval of Chairperson.
The terms of references of the committee will include:
(i)                 Ensure that all programmes are implemented in accordance with the Guidelines.
(ii)               Look into complaints/alleged irregularities received in respect of the implementation of the programmes, including complaints of wrong selection of beneficiaries, mis-appropriation / diversion of funds and recommend follow-up action. The Committee should have the authority to summon and inspect any record for this purpose. The Committee may refer any matter for enquiry to the District Collector/CEO of the Zilla Panchayat/Project Director of DRDA (or Poverty Alleviation Unit) or suggest suitable action to be taken in accordance with the rules which should be acted upon by him within 30 days.
(iii)             Closely review the flow of funds including the funds allocated, funds released by both Centre and the State, utilization and unspent balances under each Scheme.
This is underlined that the Action Taken on the recommendations of the previous meeting should be the first agenda item for the next meeting. Follow up action on recommendations of the DDCMCs should be initiated within 30 days of the meeting. The Member Secretary should ensure that meeting notice, agenda notes and proceedings of meetings are uploaded on the website of the Ministry of Rural Development and also the website of the State.

Centre forms ‘Disha’ for timely implementation of Central Schemes 

No comments:

Post a Comment