Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Sanjay Mitra as next Defence Secretary


The central government approved the appointment of 1982 batch IAS officer of the West Bengal cadre Sanjay Mitra as the next Defence Secretary of the country today. According(अनुसार) to Hindustan Times, Mitra is to get a fixed tenure of 2 years at the post of the Defence Secretary. Mitra is reported to have been serving as the secretary of the Ministry of road transport and highways. He has been appointed as the officer-on-special duty in the Ministry of Defence. He will take charge as the Defence Secretary on May 24, after the retirement of incumbent G Mohan Kumar. 
Among other notable appointments cleared by the Centre, IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh, batch of 1984, Anant Kumar Singh was appointed as the textiles ministry secretary. he will be replacing Rashmi Verma, who would be moving to a similar position in the tourism ministry. Among all the empanelled officers, Anant Kumar Singh is the first of the 1984 batch to get appointed as a secretary level officer, according to Hindustan Times. Singh had earlier worked as the additional secretary of the Home Ministry. But after then home secretary LC Goyal was shifted, he had been transferred to the ministry of petroleum.
The central government’s appointment committee is also reported to have approved the appointment of 1981 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, Rajiv Srivastava as the next secretary in the ministry of woman and child development after Leena Nair had been transferred to the ministry of tribal affairs. It must be noted that the appointment panel consists of PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh among others. The committee has also approved the appointment of Jagdeesh Prasad Meena as secretary of the department of consumer affairs.

No comments:

Post a Comment