Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Hry to confer Vigyan Ratna, Yuva Vigyan Ratna awards

Hry to confer Vigyan Ratna, Yuva Vigyan Ratna awards

Chandigarh, May 10 (PTI) Haryana government would confer Vigyan Ratna and Yuva Vigyan Ratna awards every year on eminent (प्रख्यात) scientists of the state to develop among the students the interest in science and technology. The awards would be conferred on the scientists who have made an outstanding contribution(योगदान) in the field of science and technology on the occasion of National Science Day on February 28 every year. It has also been decided to double the amount of Haryana Vigyan Ratna Award from Rs two lakh to Rs four lakh, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said at an event here today. During the function, Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki conferred Haryana Vigyan Ratna and Haryana Yuva Vigyan Ratna awards for 2012-13 to 2016-17 on 11 eminent scientists of the state for their outstanding contribution in the field of science and technology.

He conferred Haryana Vigyan Ratna Award for 2012-13 on former director, National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (ICAR), Pusa, Delhi, Prof K C Bansal for his contributions in the field of plant biotechnology.

Similarly, emeritus (जो सम्मानपूर्वक सेवामुक्त हुआ हो) scientist, J C Bose Fellow and former deputy director, Reproductive Cell Biology Laboratory, National Institute of Immunology, Delhi, Dr Satish Kumar Gupta was honoured with Haryana Vigyan Ratna Award for 2013-14 for producing the first pregnancy detection kit sold for public use in the country, among other achievements.

The scientists were presented with a cash prize of Rs two lakh each.

The Governor also conferred Haryana Yuva Vigyan Ratna award on nine young scientists - aged below 40 years - and presented them with a cash prize of Rs one lakh each.

They included Deputy General Manager, BrahMos Aerospace, Delhi, Abhineet Kaushik and Scientist-E, Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), Hyderabad, Pradeep Kumar for 2012-13.

For 2013-14, the award was conferred on Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology, IIT Roorkee, Uttarakhand, Dr Deepak Sharma and Scientist-E, (DRDO), Delhi Parveen Kumar.

For 2014-15, the award was conferred on among others Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Punjab University, Chandigarh, Dr Savita Chaudhary and Assistant Professor, School of Biotechnology, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi, Dr Abhinav Grover.

Uring the people to adopt and promote science and technology to deal with global challenges, Solakni said greater use and growth in terms of science and technology were required to translate the potential of the state into progress.

He said the Haryana government was undertaking many initiatives to promote science and technology in the state, including providing scholarships and conferring awards on eminent scientists.

Khattar, while congratulating the awardees, said it made him feel proud as the scientists belonged to different parts of the state, especially rural areas.

"It is the endeavour(प्रयास) of the government to further encourage wider adoption of science and technology both as a subject and in its application in routine activities," he said.

"Information technology applied to the concept of Aadhaar has helped root out ineligible beneficiaries of various schemes and as well as streamline their processes," the Chief Minister said.

Highlighting the efforts being made by the government to popularise science, he said that a science centre is being established over 44 acres at a cost of Rs 250 crore at Murthal in Sonepat district, and a sub-regional science centre over five acres at a cost of Rs 20 crore in Ambala Cantt.

No comments:

Post a Comment