Friday, 19 May 2017

BJD's Pratap Deb elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

BJD's Pratap Deb elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Biju Janata Dal's (BJD) Rajya Sabha nominee Pratap Keshari Deb was on Thursday elected unopposed (निर्विरोध) to the lone vacant seat from Odisha in the upper house. An official announcement in this regard was made by the returning officer here on Thursday. Deb had filed his nomination for the by-poll to the vacant Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha on May 15, the last date for filing nominations. Deb's election to the Rajya Sabha was certain as the opposition did not field any candidate against the ruling BJD nominee. The by-poll was necessitated(जरूरी)  following the resignation of Bishnu Charan Das on March 21 who was appointed deputy chairman of the Odisha State Planning Board. His term of office would have ended on July 1, 2022.

Deb, a former state minister, said he would raise the issues affecting(प्रभावित करने वाले) the state in the upper house of Parliament.

No comments:

Post a Comment