Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Shashank Manohar to complete his full term as ICC Chairman

Shashank Manohar to complete his full term as ICC Chairman 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on 10 May 2017 confirmed that Shashank Manohar will continue to function as the Independent(स्वतंत्र) Chairman of ICC till June 2018. With this, the
uncertainty (अनिश्चितता) looming large over Shashank Manohar's tenure as ICC chairman came to an end. In March 2017, Manohar resigned as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council stating personal reasons. However, he was persuaded(विश्वस्त) by overwhelming (भारी) support from ICC Directors. Manohar joined ICC as a Chairman in May 2016. He had signed a two-year term with the ICC that began with immediate effect after he stepped down as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

About Shashank Manohar
• He is a prominent Indian lawyer who has served twice as the President of BCCI, first from 2008 to 2011 and then from November 2015 to May 2016.
• During his tenure as President of BCCI, India won the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final.
• In June 2010, he took the much-praised decision of suspending Lalit Modi, the then Chairman of Indian Premier League and Vice-President of BCCI.
• As a Chairman of ICC, Manohar acted as a driving force behind decentralising(विकेंद्रीकरण) the power held by ‘The Big Three’ - Cricket Australia (CA) of England, Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and BCCI in the decision making processes of the ICC.

No comments:

Post a Comment