Thursday 18 May 2017

ISRO receives 2014 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

ISRO receives 2014 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

New Delhi, May 18 (PTI) Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh today presented the 2014 Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). The award, announced by a jury headed by Vice President Hamid Ansari in 2014, consists of a trophy, a cash prize of Rs 1 crore and a citation. ISRO chairman Kiran Kumar received the award here on behalf of the space body.

"The International Jury of the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development awarded the prize for 2014 to ISRO in recognition(मान्यता)  of its path-breaking achievements, culminating(समापन)  in the Mars orbiter mission, its significant contributions in strengthening international cooperation in peaceful use of outer space," the citation read.

The trophy, with a portrait of Indira Gandhi presented in the tradition of a Jaipur miniature(लघु)  painting, is made of banded Haematite Jasper, a low grade iron ore. Singh presented the award for 2015 to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees at a function here in 2016.

Earlier recipients of the award include former American President Jimmy Carter, Namibian leader Sam Nujoma, Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai and German chancellor Angela Merkel. 

 Indira Gandhi Peace Prize Established-in-1986

No comments:

Post a Comment