Friday 12 May 2017

Harinder Rao appointed GM of Eastern Railway

Harinder Rao appointed(नियुक्त) GM of Eastern Railway

According to an order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved their appointments to the post. The working of railways is divided into different zones. A General Manager is the chief executive officer of the zonal railway. His job profile includes taking all policy decisions at the macro level concerning (विषय में) administration, train operations, safety, planning, security, marketing and freight(भाड़ा) management among others. The General Manager is the central column around which the zonal railways functions and operations are organised. The Eastern Railways has four divisions -- Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and Malda. The Western Railways has Mumbai Central, Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Ratlam divisions under it. The ACC has also approved appointment of Vishwesh Chaube as the GM of Metro Railway, Kolkata. Chaube is an officer of the Indian Railway Service of Engineers (IRSE).
Margoob Hussain, an IRSEE officer, has been appointed as the Director General of Research Designs and Standards Organisation (RDSO), Lucknow, the order said.  


There are 17 railway zones in India now. Indian Railways is divided for administrative convenience into several regional railways. Until recently there were 9 zones, and this structure had not changed much for four decades. Recently, 7 new zones have been created, giving a total of 16.


Central Railway CR Mumbai
Eastern Railway ER Kolkata
East Central Railway ECR Hajipur
East Coast Railway ECoR Bhubaneswar
Konkan Railways KR         Navi Mumbai
Northern Railway NR Delhi
North Central Railway NCR Allahabad
North Eastern Railway NER Gorakhpur
North Western Railway NWR Jaipur
Northeast Frontier Railway NFR Guwahati
Southern Railway SR Chennai
South Central Railway SCR Secunderabad
South East Central Railway SECR Bilaspur
South Eastern Railway SER Kolkata
South Western Railway SWR Hubballi
Western Railway WR Mumbai
West Central Railway WCR Jabalpur
Metro Railway Kolkata

No comments:

Post a Comment