Saturday, 6 May 2017

Braj Bihari Kumar new ICSSR chief

Braj Bihari Kumar new ICSSR chief

The Union government has appointed Braj Bihari Kumar as Chairman of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), which is dedicated to social science research in India. He replaces eminent (प्रख्यात) academic S.K. Thorat, who was appointed by the UPA government. Mr. Kumar, 76, is the founding member of Astha Bharati, a non-profit organisation dedicated to promoting the “India’s unity and integrity(अखंडता).” It publishes journals Dialogue and Chintan Srijan. He was chosen by a selection committee comprising National Research Professor Ashok Modak, Panjab University emeritus professor Jitendra Mohan and historian Satish Mittal.Vice-Chancellors have been appointed for Nagaland Central University and Aligarh Muslim University (AMU).

Tariq Mansoor, principal of AMU’s Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, will replace Lt. General (retired) Jameeruddin Shah as Vice-Chancellor of AMU.

Pardesi Lal, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Nagaland University, will become the Vice-Chancellor.

No comments:

Post a Comment