Wednesday 30 November 2016

3 city-based CCMB scientists bag awards

HYDERABAD: Three senior scientists of the city-based Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB) received two prestigious awards for their outstanding performance.  As per a CCMB release here on Tuesday, Dr Rakesh Mishra, director, CCMB, and Dr Imran Siddiqi, chief scientist, received the JC Bose National Fellowship. This award is given in recognition of outstanding performance of
active scientists. The fellowship is scientist-specific and very selective.
Prof Amitabha Chattopadhyay, JC Bose Fellow at the CSIR-CCMB, has been awarded the prestigious TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) Prize in biology for 2016.
TWAS Prizes were announced last week at the Academy's 27th general meeting held at Kigali, Rwanda. Prof Chattopadhyay received the award for his seminal contribution in understanding the role of membrane cholesterol in the organization and function of a class of proteins called G protein coupled receptors (GPCRs) and its implications in health and disease, the CCMB release said.

No comments:

Post a Comment