Wednesday 30 November 2016

Under the National e-Governance Action Plan (NeGP)

E-Governance . The Government of India is implementing the ‘Digital India’ programme with the vision to transform India into a digitally empowered society and knowledge economy. Digital India is an umbrella programme that covers multiple Government Ministries and Departments and is being coordinated by MeitY. Various e-Governance initiatives are being taken in last two years by
Government are as follows:

·         Under the National e-Governance Action Plan (NeGP) which is now subsumed under Digital India, core infrastructure components such as State Data Centres (SDCs), State Wide Area Networks (SWANs), Common Services Centres (CSCs), State e-Governance Service Delivery Gateway (SSDGs), e-District and Capacity Building are being implemented.

·   The pillar 5: e-Kranti Electronic delivery of services envisages provisioning of various e-Governance services in the country. The focus of the e-Kranti is to transform the e-Governance services by expanding the portfolio of Mission Mode Projects (MMPs) in e-Governance under various Government Departments, undertaking Government Process Reengineering (GPR), work flow automation, introducing latest technologies such as Cloud and mobile platform and focus on integration of services.

Various other projects/schemes are being implemented under Digital India are as follows:
MyGov aims to establish a link between Government and Citizens towards meeting the goal of good governance. MyGov encourages citizens as well as people abroad to participate in various activities i.e. 'Do', 'Discuss', 'Poll', 'Talk', ‘Blog’, etc.

Digital Locker System: It serves as a platform to enable citizens to securely store and share their documents with service providers who can directly access them electronically.

e-Hospital-Online Registration  Framework (ORF) is an initiative to facilitate the patients to take online OPD appointments with government hospitals. This framework also covers patient care, laboratory services and medical record management.

National Scholarships Portal (NSP): provides a centralized platform for application and disbursement of scholarship to students under any scholarship scheme. Over 1 crore applications have been submitted.

Common Services Centres 2.0 (CSC 2.0): The Government of India is implementing CSCs scheme to develop and provide support to the use of information technology in rural areas of the country. The CSCs are Information and Communication Technology (ICT) enabled kiosks with broadband connectivity to provide various Governments, private and social services at the doorstep of the citizen.

Mobile Seva: to provide Government services to the people also through mobile phones and tablets.

Jeevan Pramaan: It is an Aadhaar based Biometric Authentication System for Pensioners. The Prime Minister inaugurated the Jeevan Pramaan in November, 2014. The system provides authenticity to Digital Life Certificate without the necessity of the pensioner being present in person before his/ her Pension Dispensing Authority (PDA).

National Centre of Geo-informatics (NCoG): Under this project, Geographic Information System (GIS) platform for sharing, collaboration, location based analytics and decision support system for Departments has been developed.

The total funds utilised by e-Governance, MeitY on above e-Governance initiatives are as below:

Financial Year

Funds Utilised (Rs. in crore)





This was stated by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply to a question by Shri Konda Vishweshwar Reddy in the Lok Sabha today.

No comments:

Post a Comment