Monday, 14 November 2016

Maharashtra: National Electrical Engineers’ Convention

Maharashtra: National Electrical Engineers’ Convention: Calls for research into affordable electricity.S V Deo, former technical member of MSEB said “Electrification work in the rural area started in 1970. Now it is necessary to have uninterrupted electricity supply for 24 hours."“In India, electricity has not reached 33 per cent of the population. It is necessary to produce electricity at an affordable rate to the common man.
Hence, changes in technology, research and innovation together are necessary to face the challenges in electrical sector,” said VG Gaikar, Vice-Chancellor of Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Technological University and Lonere.Gaikar was speaking at the 32nd National Convention of electrical engineers and a national seminar on Sustainable development in Indian power sector for the next decade held at the Institution of Engineers India, Pune, on Sunday.
S V Deo, former technical member of MSEB, A S Satish, vice president of IEI, Vijay, S Ghogare, chairman, Pune local centre, D J Doke convener, V N Shinde, honorary secretary and V P Nerkar were present at the occasion.
“Electricity from solar, wind and biogas will play important role in the economy of the country,” Gaikar added.
“Electrification work in the rural area started in 1970. Now it is necessary to have uninterrupted electricity supply for 24 hours,” Deo said.
Doke said the convention was organised for electrical engineers, managers and policy makers to share their views, experiences and observations with each other for better planning and adopting a suitable and sustainable technology for the country for the next decade. As many as 68 reviewed papers were presented in the seminar. Nearly 200 electrical engineers, researchers and eminent professionals from the field participated in the seminar.
Professor Bhim Singh of Delhi, Prof S A Khaparde of Mumbai), Vijay Sonavane, former advisor, MERC, Shanti Prasad, former chairman Rajasthan Electricity Regulatory Commission were felicitated on the occasion. R Manan Suri, Geetha Mani and M Kartik were felicitated for their valuable contribution in the field of electrical engineering.

No comments:

Post a Comment