Monday, 24 April 2017

Nadal wins historic 10th Monte-Carlo title


Rafael Nadal wins the Monte Carlo tennis tournament for the record 10th time, beats compatriot (सहानुभूति) Albert Ramos. Rafael Nadal won the Monte Carlo Masters for a record 10th time with a dominant 6-1 6-3 victory over fellow Spaniard Albert Ramos-Vinolas.  It was Nadal's first title in almost a year and he became the first man in the Open era to win the same event 10 times. 

The 30-year-old is aiming for a 10th French Open title as well next month. 

Rafael Nadal made history with a 10th Monte Carlo title on Sunday but the Spanish star refused to entertain thoughts of adding a 10th French Open to his 14-title Grand Slam collection. 

Spain's 30-year-old king of clay claimed his 50th trophy on his favourite surface, his 70th overall and his first title in almost a year as he beat compatriot Albert Ramos-Vinolas 6-1, 6-3 with a clinical winning effort which took just 76 minutes. 

Earlier, India's Rohan Bopanna and his Uruguayan partner Pablo Cuevas today lifted the men's doubles crown at the Monte Carlo Masters after registering a hard- fought three-set win over Spain's Feliciano Lopez and Marc Lopez in Monaco.

The unseeded pair defeated its opponents 6-3, 3-6, 10-4 in the summit-clash at the Monte Carlo Country Club.The crown is the the first of the season for Bopanna and Cuevas and the third overall for the Indian.

Bopanna had earlier won the Chennai Open in January with Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan but lost in the final of the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, in which he teamed up with Poland's Marcin Matkowski.

No comments:

Post a Comment