Monday 7 November 2016

5 judges appointed to Delhi high court

NEW DELHI: The government on Saturday notified appointment of five judges for Delhi high court and appointment of three additional judges of Bombay high court as permanent judges. According to the notification, Anil Kumar Chawla, Vinod Goel, Chander Shekhar, Anu Malhotra and Yogesh Khanna were appointed judges of Delhi HC from the date they assume charge.In a separate notification, three additional
judges of Bombay HC were appointed as permanent judges. The President appointed Kalidas Laxmanrao Wadane, Indira Kanahaiyalal Jain and Shalini Shashank Phansalkar-Joshi as judges of Bombay HC, according to the notification. TOI had reported on November 1 that the government had cleared appointment of 10 judges for the high courts of Gauhati and Delhi and sent the names to President Pranab Mukherjee for his assent before they are notified.
These are the first lot of appointments of HC judges after a Supreme Court bench headed by the Chief Justice of India recently observed that the government was trying to decimate the judiciary by holding back appointments.
The CJI was particularly upset at the government sitting over recommendations of the apex court collegium for as long as nine months.

No comments:

Post a Comment