Friday 24 June 2016


Agriculture Production Commissioner (APC) Pravir Kumar is likely to be elevated as officiating Chief Secretary on June 30, after the retirement of the present incumbent Alok Ranjan. The present Chief Secretary is on an extension of three months and has refused a second extension. Official sources said that Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav is yet to take a call on the next Chief Secretary, and hence a stop-
gap arrangement would be in place for the time being. The new CS is likely to be selected by the state government in July. Sources maintained that 1981 batnch officer and the present APC Pravir Kumar is obviously one of the front runners.
Principal Secretary Energy Sanjay Agarwal is also in the race along with Principal Secretary Irrigation Deepak Singhal and Chairman of Board of Revenue Anil Kumar Gupta.
Another 1979 batch officer Vijay Shankar Pandey is qualified to be considered for the top post and is presentlyt posted as Secretary with the Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals (Government of India). 
What seems to have delayed the selection of the top bureacrat is the reported lack of unanimity among members of the SP’s first family. While a section of the family, including Shivpal Yadav and Rajya Sabha member Amar Singh, are pitching in for a powerful Principal Secretary, CM Akhilesh Yadav is averse to his candidature.
Besides, the CM doesn’t want to create a fresh controversy over the selection of the CS, which is likely to delay the process.
Chief Secretary Alok Ranjan was due to retire on March 31 last, but was given a three-month extension which is ending on June 30.  The extension for Ranjan, was recommended by the CM and approved by the Centre. 

No comments:

Post a Comment