Sunday 26 June 2016

Pooja Dabhi Wins Round One of Honda All Ladies Race

Pooja Dabhi clocked an overall timing of 8:03:969 minutes over 5 laps.  Shruthi N had the fastest lap time of 1:23:691 minutes. The Honda exclusive Ladies Race will extend for the complete season. Kick starting Honda's One Make Race series, Pooja Dabhi of Pune romped took home the victory at the inaugural round of the Honda All Ladies Race, held at Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore. The Pune
based young racer started the race from the pole position, clocking an overall timing of 8:03:969 minutes over 5 laps, followed by Shruthi N from Chennai at the second position completing the race in 8:04:529 minutes, while A Ryehane finished third clocking an overall 8:10:097 minutes. Shruthi N though, turned out to be the fastest on the track setting a lap record of 1:23:691 minutes.

10 women riders participated in Round One of the Honda All Ladies Race competing on the race-prepped CBR150R motorcycles. The riders have been trained at the Honda Ten10 Racing Academy and will be racing for the complete season this year. Certainly, a positive move the Honda Racing to promote women towards motorsport in the country.

Congratulating the winners, Prabhu Nagaraj, Vice President, Customer Service, HMSI, said, “The rapid strides the women riders has taken in such a short time, validates our decision to conduct the All Ladies Race for the entire season. My hearties congratulations to Pooja, Shruthi, Ryehana and all the ladies who took to the grid today. We have high expectations from them for the future as well.”

Pooja Dabhi in action at the Kari Motor Speedway

Moving further, Honda Racing kick starts its One Make Race season today with the CBR150R novice category and CBR250R open category. The Japanese bike maker unveiled the new race-prepped racing versions of CBR250R and CBR150R earlier this week upgraded with the technical support of Honda R&D India. The new race spec CBR250R gets an upgraded Honda racing kit, including wiring harness with remapping option, advanced racing body cowl kit and an endurance exhaust; whereas the new CBR150R gets a reprogrammed ECU and Endurance exhaust as part of the upgrades.

The idea of introducing one make race has been done in order to encourage motorsports in the country, not to forget, making it more accessible. The CBR250R category continues to be a Team Championship and 16 CBR250R performance bikes are leased out to 4 teams registered at FMSCI. Besides defending champions - Ten 10 Racing, Prolap Racing, United Tech Torque and AMB Tuning will compete for the top-honours.

The CBR 150R category will be an open category where riders, where riders who have undergone extensive racing training from Honda Ten10 Racing Academy or any other training school recognized by MMSC (Madras Motor Sports Club) will compete for the top honours.

No comments:

Post a Comment