Monday 20 June 2016

National Yoga Olympiad concludes and 48 winners awarded

New Delhi: Forty eight students were emerged as winners at the National Yoga Olympiad organized by NCERT today (20 June 2016) at Talkatora stadium New Delhi. Total 321 children from 21 States/UTs participated at the National Yoga Olympiad, which is the first edition of the programme organized by NCERT under the aegis of Ministry of Human Resources.  Winners of the National Yoga Olympiad
award were honoured by Union HRD Minister, Mrs Smriti Zubin Irani. Union AYUSH Minister Mr Shripad Yesso Naik joined the programme as guest of honour.

Book on A Teachers Guide on Health & Physical Education for class 6 and two books on Yoga for upper primary and secondary stage in Urdu was released by Union HRD Minister.

The theme for the Yoga Olympiad this year was ‘Yoga for Health and Harmony’.  The following yogic practices were covered in Yoga Olympiad:  Asanas, Pranayama, Kriya (Cleansing Process), Bandha (Secondary stage only), Surya Namaskar (Optional).

All teams were divided into four categories:  Upper Primary Girls, Upper Primary Boys, Secondary Girls and Secondary Boys.

No comments:

Post a Comment