Saturday 25 June 2016

Kousik hogs award-night limelight

President Srinivasan says TNCA is a loyal, staunch member of the BCCI. Pace-bowling all-rounder J. Kousik won the Bishnuram Medhi Trophy for the ‘cricketer of the year’ at the 86th annual day awards function of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) here on Friday. Speaking on the occasion, TNCA president N. Srinivasan appreciated the commitment and dedication of the association’s office-
bearers, staff, members and volunteers. He said, “Naturally we are disappointed that Chennai did not get to host any matches of the ICC World Twenty20. It is the people of Chennai who suffer. This is a cricket-starved city.” Srinivasan added, “But we took it in our stride. We brushed aside the disappointments and did our job. The ICC was highly appreciative of the manner in which the women’s World Twenty20 matches were conducted here.”
The TNCA president said, “We are a loyal and staunch member of the BCCI.”
Srinivasan was happy about the creation of the Tamil Nadu Premier League and thanked the broadcaster and all those who bid for the franchises for the “faith they had shown in the TNCA.”
He appreciated the role of U. Prabhakar Rao and said his request to step down as the TNCA vice-president must be respected. “Prabhakar Rao’s contribution to Tamil Nadu cricket and TNCA is priceless,” Srinivasan said.
Vijay Shankar and K.B. Arun Karthick accepted the awards on behalf of Vijay CC which achieved a unique treble this season.
New website
TNCA joint secretary R.I. Palani, who read the annual report, announced that the TNCA and TNPL will have a new website managed by SportsMechanics from today.

Former India leg-spinner L. Sivaramakrishnan anchored the programme. Martin Raj, assistant secretary, TNCA, proposed a vote of thanks.

The prominent award winners:

Bishnuram Medhi Trophy (cricketer-of-the-year): J. Kousik; Baliah Memorial Trophy (collegiate cricketer of the year): K. Bharath Shankar (SRM University); V. Jagannathan Memorial Trophy (best bowler in Ranji Trophy): Rahil Shah; T. Vasu Naidu Memorial Trophy (best fielder in Ranji): B. Indrajith.

M.A.M. Ramaswamy Endowment (consistent performance in Ranji): Malolan Rangarajan; N.N. Suvarna Memorial Trophy (highest aggregate in Ranji): B. Indrajith; R.T. Parthasarathy Trophy (cricketer of the year from districts): D.T. Chandrasekar (Tiruvallur); C. Subramanium Trophy (school cricketer of the year): S. Kishan Kumar (St. John’s MHSS); S.W. De Allwis Trophy (junior school cricketer of the year): B. Sai Sudharsan (Santhome); Special award for representing India in the under-19 World Cup: M.S. Washington Sundar.

V. Pattabhiraman prize for most promising cricketer in Tamil Nadu State matches: S. Manchanda Singh (Nellai Nadar MHSS); Ghulam Ahmed prize for outstanding schoolboy cricketer in South Zone: Nidhish S. Rajagopal (St. Bede’s); A.F. Wensley prize for most promising boy in TNCA coaching camp: Mohammad Adnan Khan (St. Bede’s).

Woman cricketer of the year: D. Hemalatha (MOP Vaishnav College); Promising woman cricketer of the year: K.N. Ramya Shri (Bakthavatchalam Vidyashram); Promising woman under-19 cricketer: S. V. Keerthana (Sacred Heart MHSS); Best woman fielder: S. Anusha (MOP Vaishnav).

Raja of Pudukottai prizes for district performances: S. Sanjay Shrinivas (Namakkal), N. D. Harishankar (Coimbatore), S. Radhakrishnan (Coimbatore), R. Sonu Yadav (Krishnagiri), and Pradosh Ranjan Paul (Tirupur).

TNCA inter-district tournaments: Under-14: Winner: Coimbatore; Runner-up: Tiruvallur; Under-16: P.R. Thevar Trophy: Winner: Tiruvallur; Runner-up: Tirupur; Under-19: Winner: Namakkal; Runner-up: Krishnagiri; Under-23: Winner: Coimbatore; Runner-up: Tiruvallur; Seniors: S.S. Rajan Trophy: Winner: Coimbatore; Runner-up: Tirupur.

No comments:

Post a Comment